Skoltech is an international graduate research-focused university that was founded by the group of world-renowned scientists in 2011. Skoltech's curriculum focuses on technology and innovation, offering Master's programs in 11 technological disciplines. Students receive rigorous theoretical and practical training, design their own research projects, participate in internships and gain entrepreneurial skills in English. The faculty is comprised of current researchers with international accreditation and achievements.


The Academic Council is appointed by the decision of the Skoltech Board of Trustees. The membership is comprised of Skoltech leadership/faculty as well as invited members.

Invited membersSkoltech leadership and faculty

Alexander Fertman
Director on Science and Education, Skolkovo Foundation
Since 2011, Alexander Fertman has been working in the nuclear technologies cluster of the Skolkovo Foundation and is responsible for cooperation with Russian and foreign research centers involving leading scientists and engineers. One of the most important areas of his professional activity is developing the expert community of the cluster.
Dr. Fertman has a PhD in experimental physics; he is an associate professor at the Department of Physics of Extreme States of Matter at the National Research Nuclear University MEPhI.  He is also a coordinator of the technology platform, “Radiation Technologies,” and a co-organizer of TechNet of the National Technology Initiative.
Research interests: radiation technologies including hadron therapy, radiation safety, analytical instruments, and high energy density in 

Valery Rubakov
Academician, Russian Academy of Sciences. Chief scientist, Theory Physics Department, Institute for Nuclear Research, (RAS). Professor of Physics, Lomonosov Moscow State University
Valery Rubakov graduated in physics at Moscow State University in 1978, and completed his doctorate at the Institute for Nuclear Research of the Russian Academy of Sciences in 1981, where he started his career as a researcher. In 1994, he became chief scientist at the institution. He is also a professor at the Physics Department (chairperson of particle physics and cosmology) at Moscow State University.
Dr. Rubakov has received numerous awards for his research, including the Gold Medal and the Prize for Young Scientists of the Russian Academy of Sciences (1985), the A.A. Friedman Prize of the Russian Academy of Sciences (1999), the M.A. Markov Prize of the Institute for Nuclear Research (2005), the Bruno Pontecorvo Prize (2008), the J. Hans D. Jensen Prize of Heidelberg University and the Solvay Chair in Physics of the International Solvay Institutes in Brussels (2009).
His research interests focus on quantum field theory and high energy physics.
Prof. Alexander Kuleshov, Chairman
Prof. Nikolai Brilliantov
Prof. Iskander Akhatov
Prof. Ildar Gabitov
Prof. Clement Fortin
Prof. Anton Ivanov
Prof. Igor Krichever
Prof. Mikhail Gelfand
Prof. Dmitry Kulish
Prof. Mikhail Spasennykh

Prof. Grigory Kabatiansky
Lawrence Stein
Alexey Ponomarev

Ekaterina Malysheva,
Skoltech MSc graduate, ex-President of Student Council
Dr. Alexander Safonov, Academic Secretary